Castillo de Chapultepec

Image

Me, a chandelier and Lázaro Cárdenas’s head. A study in contrasts.

 

On Saturday, I had planned to go to Teotihuacán. I don’t know why I haven’t been there before. It might have something to do with my inner child still saying “do we have to go to the pyramids AGAIN?” (These would be the ones in Giza). It might also have to do with my aversion to archeological monuments, because I am consistently disappointed when I am told I can’t walk on them (Honduras ruined that for me) or that they’re simply not as impressive as the Egyptian monuments of my childhood. At any rate, when I woke up I was not feeling up for a 1 hour metro, 1 hour bus (one way) to the pyramids, so I decided to go to a monument closer to home, the Chapultepec Castle. It was incredible! It being Mexico, I was forced to go to the museum before I could enjoy the beautiful outside views. This time I was not disappointed. (I think I would have enjoyed it just as much if all I had seen were the views.) The museum was very interesting. One half was devoted to the history of Mexico, and the other half was a re-creation of the castle as it had been used, as a home for some of Mexico’s most infamous leaders – Porfirio Díaz (who, at 70-odd years of age re-married, a 17 year old) and the Hapsburg monarchs and emperors, Maximiliano and Carlota. It was ornate, to say the least. The president whose head you see in the picture decided that the Castle should be available for all Mexicans, and so he decreed that it would be a museum. 

2 responses to “Castillo de Chapultepec

  1. Great pic! And fascinating story about the place! It is amazing , the kinds of places the super-rich and powerful have managed to enjoy … And also how in every place there are those who recognize that some places were meant to belong to and be enjoyed by the people. Also nice to know the scholarship money is being well spent:)

  2. I also loved the photos. I really liked the story about the buses as well. Here in Winnipeg last Thursday it took me half an hour by bus to get from the Concert Hall over the “under construction” Disraeli Bridge (usually takes under 5 minutes). I guess the difference is that here the construction will eventually finish and traffic will move smoothly. I suspect that is less likely to happen in Mexico City.

Leave a Reply

