Day of the Dead

Mexico has a lot more holidays than Canada. So far, there was Independence Day in September, and now there is Day of the Dead in November (to be followed in a couple of weeks by Revolution Day)Día de MuertosDay of the Dead is by far the most colourful holiday. I also like it because it is a positive way to discuss death, or at least a way to discuss death, and is one of the ways Mexico deals with death that makes sense to me. Although it is somehow different from what I learned about in Spanish class in high school (as in, life is not a (stereo)typical Oaxacan city in the mythical past), and not celebrated extensively in all parts of the country, it is still really interesting.

Yesterday, I went with some people from the Casa de los Amigos to the Mercado Jamaica to buy flowers, fruit and pan de muerto (bread of the dead) for the ofrenda at the Casa de los Amigos. I think that many but not all people do ofrendas here in Mexico City; I doubt that most people buy so many flowers for their individual homes. If I had one, I would have as few of these fragrant flowers as possible, and decorate the ofrenda with papel picado (crepe paper with designs cut out of it), and focus on the candy skulls so that I could eat them later. Later today I might go back to the market to make one of my own. . .

2 responses to “Day of the Dead

  1. There was a really neat-looking recipe for pan de muerto in one of my cooking magazines, but I never got around to making it. I think I should, though it would mean a lot more if I’d actually witnessed the holiday in real life!

Leave a Reply

