5 Things I Wish I’d Known Before Writing My Thesis

If I could turn back time…

This list was initially going to be 10 things long, but I could only think of 5. What 5 things do you wish you knew? (Tomorrow will be a new spin: 5 pieces of unsolicited advice).

1. Read every article and book carefully and make good notes.

2. Keep a good working bibliography. I took this advice after I finished my first chapter. Don’t wait that long!

3. It is important to have hobbies. Especially hobbies that have measurable results, like cooking.

4. Microsoft Word has a read aloud function.

5. Sometimes a break is healthy, sometimes it’s procrastination. Know the difference.

4 responses to “5 Things I Wish I’d Known Before Writing My Thesis

  1. Hi Rebecca. Sarah shared this post with me. Very helpful! I’m curious what exactly you mean by “good working bibliography.” Complete, properly formatted citations? Something else? Why did you find this to be so important?

    • because for one chapter I had a bibliography of only last names without the books or articles attached, which is already a problem when certain people have written more than one book, or article, and becomes more of a problem since I only had handwritten full out citations in my notes. Now I do everything on the computer, so if I slack on the bibliography it’s a bit better.

  2. Pingback: My Real Research Statement | Rebecca J

  3. Pingback: Mérida and Progreso | Rebecca J

Leave a Reply

