Taco Tour, Part 1

A few posts ago, I wrote about doing a taco tour in Toronto. It would be like my Mexico City coffee shop tour, only in Toronto and for tacos. The criteria for this tour are taste, ability to evoke Mexico, service, price and bathroom cleanliness.

Today I went on the first installment of this new adventure. It took me to El Trompo in Kensington, where I was doing some grocery shopping. I entered, and was pleased to see that the restaurant took cards. (I had spent all my cash at Kensington’s cash only stores, or stores where for obvious reasons one prefers to use cash.) It was playing the radio from Mexico – I learned about the “gobierno de la república,” which is obviously not Canada’s government. The emphasis on what the government was doing somehow suggested to me this was not US radio either. It was also in Spanish. So the restaurant was doing pretty well on the evoking Mexico front. It reminded me in a small way of Mexico City, minus the crowds (I was the only customer), the traffic, the pollution and the staring/rude comments. So, Mexico City minus all the things that annoy me. That is really all I could ever ask for.

The tacos.

Image 1I sat down to eat them, which was already a bit different from Mexico. I ordered tacos al pastor, and they were made on good tortillas (from La tortilleria, a future stop on my taco tour), with good pork. I think the pork may have in fact been too high quality, because I could not wrap my head around the taste. Or it could be that El Trompo doesn’t fry their meat after it comes off the skewer. Who knows. It was served on a plate covered with paper – which is like a taquería in Mexico City – except that the plate was a real plate and not a taco plate (about the size and weight of a frisbee). I had café de olla on the side, which was spectacular: good coffee with a cinnamon flavour. The unfortunate part was the price, $ 15 with tip, which became even more unfortunate when I made the fatal error of converting it into Mexican pesos.

Next stop: Gran Tenoch.

4 responses to “Taco Tour, Part 1

  1. Pingback: Annotated Acknowledgments | Rebecca J

  2. Pingback: Varenicke | Rebecca J

  3. Pingback: Taco Tour: Penultimate Post | Rebecca J

  4. Pingback: Taco Tour Round-up | Rebecca J

Leave a Reply

