Thesis summary

For those 10 readers who are related to me and who read what I write regardless of content, I will summarize my thesis. If you would like, I can send you the presentation I gave at the beginning of my defence, but since that was written for people who had already read my entire thesis, I am not sure it would be that helpful. 

My thesis is essentially an allegorical reading of the Easter narrative in the context of mid-twentieth century Mexican history and literature, as long as you understand the Easter narrative in the following way. The individual body of Jesus dies because of the oppression from the Romans in his context, and then rises, in body and spirit, to begin a movement of collective change or religious renewal, that eventually came to be based on the collective body of Christ (in the Church or perhaps through communion, or, for you sacramentally minded types, the Eucharist).

In my thesis, I read novels and short stories and focus my analysis on characters. I argue that characters who are less powerful are denied the opportunity to be individuals, by more powerful characters, perhaps allied with religious or governmental forces. I read this denial of individuality through the stories’ emphasis on their bodies. At the same time (so here there is no three days in the tomb, just an abrupt reversal) I propose reading these characters’ bodies as an example of collective change, and that because the novels and short stories emphasize their bodies, they are able to relate to one anther and transform their situations. 

Leave a Reply

