Annotated Acknowledgments

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I included an acknowledgment section in my dissertation. Since this document will not be read by that many people (I’m saving the good stuff for the book), I will share one page with you. I will use everyone’s initials and leave it up to you to guess who is who.

The first paragraph thanks my advisor, committee members, external and internal/external readers on my dissertation. I also thank the Latin American Studies Coordinator at U of T for making me go to El Paso, among other things. Would the taco tour have begun without this all-important intervention?

The second paragraph is where things get interesting. I thank some people in Toronto and DF (where I almost went this week. But decided to go with the plane ticket I had already purchased). I thank the Casa de los Amigos for being my first home in Mexico City and for introducing me to many interesting people, including ED, who planned my birthday party when I was in Mexico this fall, and PI, with whom I explored the Barranca del Cobre last March. Special thanks to RG, especially for taking me to the anti-awards show for most misogynist ads in Mexico and for the failed trip to El Estanquillo. Thanks also to PF porque ya tú sabes, y por si no [because you already know. And if you don’t], for introducing me to one of my favourite places in Mexico City. I took some great trips in Mexico, to Oaxaca, for a conference this fall, and also spent time with family friends there. To San Cristóbal, which was also pretty great. To Tulum, which made me realize I really don’t like the beach . People I met in each place shaped my experiences and led me to finish the diss. My working group – AA and HM in Toronto – kept me sane and hard at work three afternoons a week from 12-5, with 10 minute breaks on the hour when we didn’t know each other very well, and 15 minute breaks when we did. GCF taught me that Sunday is the day of rest. I decided to take Saturday as well, and cook, clean and get ready for the week. Taking time off is what made writing my dissertation possible. I’ve gotten out of the habit lately and it’s really hampered my progress.

Then I thank my family. I thank my parents, but not other family members who send me encouraging emails or kind words, so I thank them now. I also thank G and B, but not little B, because they are like my family. He can get a shout out on my blog even if he is only a dog. I also thank my friends. ACA for hosting me in Buenos Aires when I decided to backpack without a plan beyond seeing where my mom was born a few years ago, and for telling me that she doesn’t understand how my ideas relate to one another, and that I should explain that for my other readers. AC, for the endless fb chats. Thanks also to PK for the dinner-walks and phone calls. She might be my last and only friend who uses the telephone for what it was meant to do.

As John Donne reminds us, in Meditation XVII “Devotions upon Emergent Occasions”

No man is an island entire of itself; every man 
is a piece of the continent, a part of the main; 
if a clod be washed away by the sea, Europe 
is the less, as well as if a promontory were, as 
well as any manner of thy friends or of thine 
own were; any man's death diminishes me, 
because I am involved in mankind. 
And therefore never send to know for whom 
the bell tolls; it tolls for thee.
Leave a Reply

