When Life Hands you Lemons Make Lemon…Trains?

I left Potosí on a Thursday, after a week of research a touring, to go to Uyuni. I was supposed to stay in a private room in a hostel in the Uyuni train station and then go to the salt flats the next day. Unfortunately there was a census in Bolivia on the Saturday – and all Bolivians had to be at home, even going to their original hometowns, and so overnight trips were suspended until Sunday. So, in this environment of strong Biblical overtones, I had to recalibrate.

Train car hotel room

I upgraded my very basic room (small twin and no windows iirc) to a whole entire train car! Possibly the coolest place I’ve ever stayed. It also had a microwave and fridge and a kettle and medium functional wifi. The train car also heated up during the day so it got quite warm – handy because the nights are cold. 

Home sweet train station

The next day, I decided to go Pulacayo to see the remnants of the Mina Huanchaca, which had been the richest mine in Bolivia in the 19th century (supplanting the Cerro Rico).

There was a train museum which was hella cool and as I wandered I saw some buildings abandoned a long time ago

I continued to wandered around the town, attempted to enter a museum but it was closed, and saw many abandoned homes and two spots for possible statues of saints or the Virgin Mary without the sacred figure.

I kept hearing music but not seeing people, until I happened upon some younger employees of a company restarting mineral exploration in the region.

I believe this is a llama. I got very close to them and was definitely more scared than they were.

Imagine if the walls could talk.

Leave a comment